girl-aflame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Theme Songs - POY

For Pieces of You:

I'm combining two topics this week. Haha, aren't I just the little experimenter?

"Everyone has some sort of special song in their life.... One that brings you back to a time or place in your past or that reminds you of someone you know/knew. Or maybe it's a sad song. A song that makes you cry or reflect.

What's your song and how does it effect you?"

+

"Last week we discussed songs and how they remind us of someone or some place..... How about yourself? Has anyone ever told you that there is a song that reminds them of you? Or is there a song that reminds you of yourself?"

=

Music means almost as much to me as poetry does. I have music playing around me about 90% of my day. Currently I have about 1500 mp3s. Yeah, I know people with more than me, but that's over a 56K connection, too. I am always finding songs with lyrics that remind me of a part of my life, and I love attaching a song to a person or situation. There are just a ton of songs that go along with a little snippet of my life.

Brian and I have collected just about every love song ever recorded, methinks, and it's hard for me to hear anything to do with love without thinking of him, or it being a song he sent me / I sent him. Some of the earliest songs we had for each other were "Dreaming My Dreams" by The Cranberries, "Spend A Lifetime" By Jamiroquai, and "Lovely Day", which was on the Gap Commercial.. I don't know who the artist is on that particular version, but I found the full version of the lyrics and sent it to him. "When I look at you / Then the world's alright with me / Just one look at you / And I know it's gonna be / A lovely day". Later our theme song became "And I Love You So" by Don McLean, and I always sort of thought "Everything I Do, I Do It For You" by Bryan Adams fit us really well.

Hearing those songs either give me warm squishy feelings, or make me feel sad, depending on what's going on between us at the time.

Way before I knew Brian, Jayme and I had songs together. We never really had any songs that described our relationship, but we had some favorite bands that we really loved. Whenever I hear them I think of my 8th grade school year / road trips we took together. God I love those memories. Everclear, Oasis, these were our classic bands. "Black Balloon" by the Goo Goo Dolls always makes me think of her... beautiful noir. Music was a huge part of our time together. I remember every Friday we would play "Everybody Must Get Stoned" by Bob Dylan and "Caress Me Down" by Sublime just to laugh at them. If we weren't together, she would play them for me over the phone. Music is still a big part of us, and we share our favorite bands with each other. She introduced me to great bands like Voltaire and Zug Izland... she's always been the avant garde one of us when it came to music. "Wild Angels" by Smokie (one of Brian's favorite bands, that he introduced me to) reminds me a lot of Jayme.

"Deception" by The Crux Shadows is my song for Michael. "Pray for daylight / Pray for morning / Pray for an end to / Our deceptions" Oh yeah, that definitely described what we had together. In his mind, "Dreaming" by BT was our relationship theme song.. "Underwater" by Delirium (for which I found ringtones but not lyrics) also fit us, and "Skin" by DJ Matrix (also lyricless). He also always said The Raindrop Prelude by Chopin reminded him of me. Everything mysterious and haunting and painful, that's Michael and me.

"Have You Ever" by Brandy is probably my song for Guy.. the one we danced to at prom. Funny that I never put that song with him until we danced to it, but the lyrics fit it pretty well. Also, "May It Be" by Enya and "The Council of Elrond" (the part with Aniron, the theme for Arwen and Aragorn). May It Be is kind of my love song for him, except it isn't really a love song... it's that... tender affection sort of love. Nothing like my love for Brian. Those songs always take me back to Governor's School, for some reason.. also "Tiny Dancer" by Elton John.. and "Closer Still" and "The Sparrows and the Nightingales" by Wolfsheim. I used to identify him really closely with "Great Escape" by Moby, too.

My own theme songs come in bits and pieces. I felt like "She's A Lady" was my theme song for my relationship with Brian, and "Signs of Love" by Moby describes me really well, both in the music and the lyrics. Also, I always quote lyrics from "The Other Side" by The Red Hot Chili Peppers.. "Centuries are what it meant to me / A cemetary where I married the sea." ... "I yell and tell it that it's not my friend / I tear it down / I tear it down / Then it's born again." That is my life in a nutshell. (If you look closely, it's actually up there in that mask graphic).

Music completely frees my mind. When I'm writing, I almost always have music on. I love the sensations it puts in my blood and I love the scenery it calls to mind. Almost every poignant moment in my life has some music attached to it.. songs are like tiny time capsules, storing memories in their melodies.

2:13 a.m. - Sunday, Jul. 06, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

aquietboy
infinidox
andrew
ineednoname
maryboleyn
theothergirl
psallmylove
mousepoet
dumbgenius
tudor-diva
tics
dailycomic
quoted
blank01
challenge-me
evermind
elliorange
notjoe
scanzilla
foreverlight
hotrodgal
tech-noir
willnavidson
anon-amus
arandomname
ghanima
willthiswork
doing-wrong
lobsterchick
ga-templates