girl-aflame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Being Above Yourself

I refrained from telling someone who was very rude that after everything I've done for them, at the expense of my own time and effort, they should be grateful - and it's just common courtesy to say "Thank you" after someone devotes a project entirely to you and goes out of their way to make you satisfied.

But, I didn't say any of that. I gritted my teeth and was polite anyway because... it's not my place to tell them to watch their manners. It's not my place to be their conscience. Their conscience can do a fine job of that on its own, in its own time and methods.

It is always difficult for me to hold back something I want to say. The words burn in my stomach and I feel like my veins have tiny thorns in them; everything in me builds pressure until it just erupts into words, whereby the pressure is immediately relieved. Not saying things that are on my mind gives me indigestion.

Sometimes surrendering to the universe ain't easy. But you've just got to trust that things are unfolding exactly as they should, and keep yourself busy with your own affairs because you've got more than enough to fix about yourself to keep you busy for your lifetime.

3:04 p.m. - Sunday, Aug. 10, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

aquietboy
infinidox
andrew
ineednoname
maryboleyn
theothergirl
psallmylove
mousepoet
dumbgenius
tudor-diva
tics
dailycomic
quoted
blank01
challenge-me
evermind
elliorange
notjoe
scanzilla
foreverlight
hotrodgal
tech-noir
willnavidson
anon-amus
arandomname
ghanima
willthiswork
doing-wrong
lobsterchick
ga-templates