girl-aflame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Random Fan Letter

Subj: About Your Poetry and Writing
Date: 7/5/2003 5:08:56 PM Eastern Standard Time
From: [email address]
To: [email protected]

"Hello,

I saw your work when I was looking at the dreambook entries of Ashley (Saxon?). Your writing alone, not to mention the poems, is superb. This is exceptional work that you might want to consider at least partly pursuing in a career.

I've loved poetry since my teenage years in the 80s. I've found that even music gets old but great poems stay vivid. My favorites are Emily Dickinson and E.E. Cummings by far, for their individualism and strikingly orginal styles.

I don't know why more people don't think more of the senses and the meaningful things in life. Most poetic people tend to be compassionate even if they put on a dark air. But, that is the soul of irony.

Your poems have great imagery and terrific choices of words. I would be more analytical but I just wanted to drop a note. Poets I've read and re-read in the last few months include Jack Kerouac (overrated in novels, underrated in poetry); Gertrude Stein and John Cage (experimental and for the most part bad but at least they tried to be different); Allen Ginsberg (I once found him grating but under all that he's good); and Sylvia Plath (simply too consumed by the desire for self-destruction to reach her potential).

Your site is really surprising and excellent and I hope you hold onto your muse.

Sincerely,
[name]"

Wow... don't you just love life's little surprises?

6:18 p.m. - Saturday, Jul. 05, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

aquietboy
infinidox
andrew
ineednoname
maryboleyn
theothergirl
psallmylove
mousepoet
dumbgenius
tudor-diva
tics
dailycomic
quoted
blank01
challenge-me
evermind
elliorange
notjoe
scanzilla
foreverlight
hotrodgal
tech-noir
willnavidson
anon-amus
arandomname
ghanima
willthiswork
doing-wrong
lobsterchick
ga-templates