girl-aflame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spanish Verbs

Their verbs are grown on knife blades,
Precise incisions to Truth's stout heart.
The blood that flows is separated,
Each reality with it's own contribution
To the science of opening eyes.
From a distance they can call the horizon
And name each cloud accordingly
With it's as yet unyielded rain.
If you are lucky you climb the ladder
That descends from every tongue:
And today I know with what laurel leaves
The universe crowns the risen.
A machine, blind and mute,
Absolutely immoveable to our
Diaphanous astigma,
Sent forth its calculated judgment
And bestowed on us "amar".

This poem is about a google hit I got. Someone was translating my anniversary page from English into Spanish. That's kind of flattering in itself - but what the poem is about is that there are different levels of Spanish love. There's yo quiero, which is like, "I like" (it really means I want).. you say you like your shoes, you like your friend, you like your boyfriend you've only been dating two days. Then there's yo amo, which is I love. You love your family, you love God, and you love your husband. When the Spanish translator translated me saying "I love you" to Brian and he to me, it translated it as "Te amo" - so basically, a blind deaf unemotional machine (which I may say that online translators frequently make syntax errors) bestowed on us the highest form of love. *laughs* Which is more than some humans. (Btw. I know the word is "astigmatism" but it didn't fit phonetically.. it's poetic license, mmk?)

Just little things I notice.

5:18 p.m. - Thursday, Apr. 03, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

aquietboy
infinidox
andrew
ineednoname
maryboleyn
theothergirl
psallmylove
mousepoet
dumbgenius
tudor-diva
tics
dailycomic
quoted
blank01
challenge-me
evermind
elliorange
notjoe
scanzilla
foreverlight
hotrodgal
tech-noir
willnavidson
anon-amus
arandomname
ghanima
willthiswork
doing-wrong
lobsterchick
ga-templates