girl-aflame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Something Of A Ne'er Do Well

This is my most recent favorite song:

Oceanside
The Decemberists

Sweet Anabelle
As seen reclining on an ocean swell
As the waves do lather up to lay her down
Till she's fast
And sleeping, oh well
I guess I'm something of a ne'er do well
Who fell asleep at the ringing of a steeple bell
I'm on track
And keeping

But oh, if I could only get you oceanside,
to lay your muscles wide,
it'd be heavenly.
And oh, if I could only coax you overboard,
to leave these lolling shores,
to get you oceanside.
Oceanside.

At rising tide,
you're looking fresher than a July bride.
We're picking up what our mothers always stigmatized.
The field is right for reaping.
Oh well, I guess I'm nothing but a ne'er do well
(even though that's something I could never do well)
I'm on track and keeping.

But oh, if I could only get you oceanside
to lay your muscles wide,
it'd be heavenly.
Oh, if I could only coax you overboard,
to leave these lolling shores,
to get you oceanside.
Oceanside, oceanside.

It reminds me of passions I once had, and passions I wanted but never had, and passions I want but will never have.

All the phases of this moon.

5:37 p.m. - Thursday, Feb. 17, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

aquietboy
infinidox
andrew
ineednoname
maryboleyn
theothergirl
psallmylove
mousepoet
dumbgenius
tudor-diva
tics
dailycomic
quoted
blank01
challenge-me
evermind
elliorange
notjoe
scanzilla
foreverlight
hotrodgal
tech-noir
willnavidson
anon-amus
arandomname
ghanima
willthiswork
doing-wrong
lobsterchick
ga-templates