girl-aflame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Charity For Diaryland

Sooo.. haven't been to sleep yet. Which means I got to eat breakfast today for the first time in about a month. When you're eating peanut butter toast, you must occasionally open your mouth, or else the peanut butter will seal your mouth shut - from the inside!

This staying up thing that I've gotten rather into the habit of has got me thinking. I've been seeing a lot of links to the Blogathon, which is basically where people pick a charity, get other people to sponsor them, and then they update their blogs/diaries every half hour (or 15 minutes? can't remember) for 24 hours straight. You pledge a certain amount per entry, and then pay whatever amount you owe depending on how many entries they do, directly to the charity they were blogging for.

And I thought... wouldn't it be cool if someone could do the blogathon and donate the money to Diaryland? We all know how Andrew has been having money problems. Except, I don't think they'd accept Diaryland as a charity. But maybe, if we had some people that we trusted, we could do it anyway, and just donate the money through pay pal. Kind of like a bet. "If you blog for all 24 hours, I'll donate $X.00 to Diaryland"

I could blog for 24 hours easily. And it would be a nice way to give back to Diaryland. Sometimes I really am worried by the thought that the site is going to go belly up someday, and my God, there goes almost a year of my life - not to mention losing contact with people that I really care about. If you care about your diary as much as I do, it's like a member of the family or something. Think how terrible it would be if the site went bankrupt someday.

Not that I think it's on the verge of doing so or something, but...

Anyway. These are just ideas that have been floating around in my head. If you've got comments, you know where to drop them.

7:20 a.m. - Saturday, Jul. 19, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

aquietboy
infinidox
andrew
ineednoname
maryboleyn
theothergirl
psallmylove
mousepoet
dumbgenius
tudor-diva
tics
dailycomic
quoted
blank01
challenge-me
evermind
elliorange
notjoe
scanzilla
foreverlight
hotrodgal
tech-noir
willnavidson
anon-amus
arandomname
ghanima
willthiswork
doing-wrong
lobsterchick
ga-templates