girl-aflame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Learning To Adjust

Guy and I had a role play tonight, in our Elven personas. It is a point of great tenderness between us; there is something about the idea of elves, in their beauty and loveliness and delicacy which seems to fit us and the way we interact with one another. In my mind, it is all of twilight, the way that I saw him at night at the Governor's School Formal Dance, passing through the campus gardens underneath purple streetlamps. He is achingly beautiful, lovely and dark. I adore him more than I can tell.

I enjoyed the play very much. I am more descriptive than he is, but he plays along well. Brian and I used to do it all the time, though most of the time it ended more erotically, but we haven't done so in... such a long time that I cannot remember when last it was. Role playing is one of my favorite passtimes, though I never got into it officially as some people do. I am glad that Guy enjoys it as well; there will be many interesting and pleasureable experiences to explore in the future.

I am trying very hard to remember that he is not Brian, and not to compare the two. You have to take each person in your life as an individual separate from the rest; it is unfair to expect the same things from each of them. While one cannot help but recall the good things about a union past, it is often futile to try and recreate them. Personalities are quite like perfumes, in that the way the fragrances mix on each individual skin type, each individual body chemistry, will never be the same for any two people. Emotions shared and expressed between two personalities are as individual as fingerprints, and the highest promise of love is acceptance. You must accept the delicate makeup of each person's personality in your life, or do not accept it and recognize that they are not for further pursuit. You will grow and adjust to each other, aye, but it is only an augmentation on what was originally there - the foundation of who that person is must remain intact, or else there is something self serving in the union, and that is contrary to the ways of love.

On a less murky note, Richard got a diary! I am so excited. You should read him; he is quite funny and enjoyable, quirky and with much wit. It is just starting out, and so its evolution is not yet complete, but I am sure whatever it turns into will be quite the electric gem.

12:32 a.m. - Monday, July 21, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

aquietboy
infinidox
andrew
ineednoname
maryboleyn
theothergirl
psallmylove
mousepoet
dumbgenius
tudor-diva
tics
dailycomic
quoted
blank01
challenge-me
evermind
elliorange
notjoe
scanzilla
foreverlight
hotrodgal
tech-noir
willnavidson
anon-amus
arandomname
ghanima
willthiswork
doing-wrong
lobsterchick
ga-templates